Memoirs of an Eastender

Monday May 13, 2002 - 7:06 a.m.

Football chants and cans of lager

Currently reading: Honey Moon by Amy Jenkins

Making me happy: Mark

Pissing me off: A hangover

I've got to leave for work in about 40 minutes, and if it wasn't for the munchkin coming into me, telling me to get up because she wanted milk, I would have been lying in bed until about 11am today I think.

At least!

I don't drink beer/lager, but, when cavorting with footie fans, do as they do I feel. Plus, of course, how can you go along and cheer with the rest of the Arsenal crowd and not drink Red Stripe (which comes in a red and white can)??? So, I had a few of those and really felt rather the worse for wear last night.

It was a great atmosphere yesterday, and (make a note of this girlies), if you veer want to get an easy pull, go along to something liek that, dressed in the appropriate team's colours.....I got chatted up so many times, I lost count - it was a fantastic ego boost. It was also cool cos me and Jen were looking out of her bedroom window over at the bus while it was being prepared, which noone else could see because it was over a twelve foot high wall. We were just the other side of the road to the wall, at the same level as the open top deck.

So, when all the players got on ready to leave, we were at direct eye level with them. Before they left, Tony Adams and Sol Campbell waved at US! Noone else (cos noone else could see them at this stage) they looked and waved directly at us. Which was cool, especially as Sol USED to be a Spurs player.

And when the bus came back and we had reinstated ourselves in Jen's flat again, David Seaman waved at us....which made us go very silly and giggly cos he's DAVID SEAMAN!!!!

And I don't even LIKE footie!! Imagine what I'd be like if someone I DID like waved at me - daft tart that I am.

While we were looking down on the thousands outside the window though - before and after going to the Town Hall, I was trying to pick out any blokes I might fancy - and honestly, there were only about 5 in a crowd of around 30,000 all day! Funnily enough though, all the ones I did pick out, I managed to make eye-contact with and got a smile at the very least, a few mouthed words (along the lines of 'Can we come up there?', 'No', 'Oh go on, we've got beer!', 'No') and some waves, winks and a blown kiss.

Yayyy for my ego!

Me and Jen was having a bloody good laugh at the thought and creativity that go into football chants though - it's something I've always found amusing. Some of my favourites from yesterday:

*To the tune of 'Glory, glory halleluljiah'*

Who the fuck are Man United

who the fuck are Man United

....repeat endlessly"

Not to be confused with the regular Arsenal chant of

"Who the fuck are Tottenham Hotspur,

Who the fuck are Tottenham Hotspur

....repeat endlessly"

*To the tune of 'When the saints go marching in*

"We won the league

at Manchester

we won the league at Manchester

we won the league at Old Trafford

we won the league at Manchester"

*Shouted with great gusto*

"Red army, red army, red army, red army, red army, red army"

The prize for most creative (and most DIFFERENT words) goes to - *To the tune of 'My old man's a dustman*

'Arsene Wenger's magic

He wears a magic hat

And when he saw the double

He said 'I'm Having that!'"

And my absolute favourite for the day:

*To the tune of the conga*

"Let's go fucking mental

let's go fucking mental

ta da da da

ta da da da

...repeat endlessly"

And then they did!

There are 0 comments on this entry so far

<< Previous - - Latest - - Next >>

current | archives | profile | cast | email | gbook | notes | host | clix

missed much?

I've moved again - February 05, 2010

Will I return? - April 27, 2008

Another year gone - December 28, 2006

ChatterBlogs is fab! - November 04, 2005

Last entry! - September 15, 2005

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com