Memoirs of an Eastender

Wednesday August 27, 2003 - 9:38 a.m.

Sullen

Currently reading: King of the castle - Martin Plimmer

Making me happy: A word

Pissing me off: That I really can't be arsed, LOL

I have decided that this is what I am. A little-used old-fashioned 'proper' English word.

For those who don't know what it means, here is what I am feeling (according to dictionary.com!)

1. Showing a brooding ill humor or silent resentment; morose or sulky.

2. Gloomy or somber in tone, color, or portent: sullen, gray skies.

3. Sluggish; slow: the sullen current of a canal.

I'm not so sure about the canal bit, but the rest of it seems about right for me at the moment.

'Sullen' - what a cool word. I think I may stick it in with my other favourite words which noone uses nearly enough these days. how often do you get the cahnce to say 'gusset', 'doily' or (my favourite word ever) 'bunting'?????

Anyway - I feel happier now that I have a word for it! oh, and yeah, sorry Jules, I realise that I might have soon changed my mind if my flat actually DID blow up!!!!

There are 2 comments on this entry so far

<< Previous - - Latest - - Next >>

current | archives | profile | cast | email | gbook | notes | host | clix

missed much?

I've moved again - February 05, 2010

Will I return? - April 27, 2008

Another year gone - December 28, 2006

ChatterBlogs is fab! - November 04, 2005

Last entry! - September 15, 2005

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com