Memoirs of an Eastender

Tuesday November 11, 2003 - 3:19 p.m.

Lime green trainer man

Currently reading: Scaredy cat - Mark Billingham

Making me happy: Nothing at all

Pissing me off: No love

Over a year ago, this was this guy that both me and BD used to see walking to and from the station, in the opposite direction to the rush.

He was in his mid-40's probably, and everything about him was grey or beige. Grey jacket, non-descript beige trousers, grey/beige top, mainly bald head with a little grey hair, grey skin, totally dormant expression.

But he always wore these excruciatingly bright lime green trainers.

It was almost liek a joke - or a statement. I often wanted to ask him 'Hey, what's the deal with the trainers'.

Then, one day I spotted he'd added a black Nike hat to his ensemble. It kind of made a difference, but still, the trainers were out of place.

About 8 months ago, I noticed that he'd replaced his trainers. They were drab. A kind of off-white that fit in with the rest of his look, and made him somehow even more unexceptional. It was a shame....it was a kind of loss.

A couple of weeks ago, I started seeing him everywhere again. He's got really bright flourescent orange trainers!!! I feel kind of heartened by this, but now I'm at a loss.

He'll always be 'Lime Green trainer Man' to me, Lorna & BD.........but what do we do about the fact that he now has orange trainers?????

There are 4 comments on this entry so far

<< Previous - - Latest - - Next >>

current | archives | profile | cast | email | gbook | notes | host | clix

missed much?

I've moved again - February 05, 2010

Will I return? - April 27, 2008

Another year gone - December 28, 2006

ChatterBlogs is fab! - November 04, 2005

Last entry! - September 15, 2005

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com