Memoirs of an Eastender

Tuesday August 17, 2004 - 7:21 a.m.

Observing the observer!

Currently reading: Nothing

Making me happy: The Northerner has an interview today

Pissing me off: Got to go to work :(

Well, I kind of lied in my last entry - I said that I would reveal all about what will be my surreal wedding experience next month. But I don't think I will yet cos there haven't been enough guesses made about it!

And also because I've got to get ready for work in a few minutes and I will no doubt get carried away writing about it, so I was going to write down something else I've been meaning to do as an entry for a while now.

There's a road a couple of roads away from me - about 5 minutes walk - and whenever I go out, I usually walk down it; and whenever I pick the munchkin up from pre-school every night, I drive down it. Now, it doesn't seem to matter what time of the day or night I go down that road - there is a man who lives there who is ALWAYS standing at his gate in his vest!

I remember the first time I noticed him, it must have been winter, as I thought "Bloody hell, he's brave just wearing a vest to go outside in this weather". And it was only after I'd noticed him THAT time that I started kind of looking out for him. And OK, so EVERY time is a slight exaggeration, but I can guarantee that 8 times out of 10, he'll be there!

He's probably mid to late 50's, kind of 'manual labourer gone a bit droopy' build, grey hair and he at least changes his trousers (usually navy trackies but sometimes a pair of attractive brown shorts come out to play). His vest is that proper off-white skanky type that you KNOW has seen a lot of life!! And he just stands at his gate, hands on the wall, looking out onto the street and all that is happening (which isn't a lot particularly - it's just a normal residential street with more than an average amount of traffic. And bloody enormous speed bumps). Talking of speed bumps, these are the ones that Mark always used to drive over particularly fast in order to see my boobs wobble about a lot.

Anyway - he's always there and now I keep getting the insatiable urge to say "Hello" to him. But what do I do if he talks to me? Yesterday a cup of tea made an appearance, which I actually felt quite reassuring - he looked far more natural with a cuppa for some reason - perhaps it's the builder look he has going on. The daybefore, he was chatting with his next door neighbour. This just kind of disturbed me. He's not meant to actually make contact!

I guess I view him as some sort of alien who is here to observe mankind. He's just managed to blend in to his surroundings VERY well. But I know now. I know his game. And I will be watching for developments.

There are 2 comments on this entry so far

<< Previous - - Latest - - Next >>

current | archives | profile | cast | email | gbook | notes | host | clix

missed much?

I've moved again - February 05, 2010

Will I return? - April 27, 2008

Another year gone - December 28, 2006

ChatterBlogs is fab! - November 04, 2005

Last entry! - September 15, 2005

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com